

## I MINA'BENTE NUEBI NA LIHESLATURAN GUÅHAN 2007 (FIRST) Regular Session

Resolution No. 27(5)

Introduced by:

Ray Tenorio

Edward J.B. Calvo 

A. R. Unpingco

Relative to commending the Guam Raceway Federation on its 25<sup>th</sup> Anniversary of hosting the annual Smokin' Wheels competition and for their many contributions to the island of Guam.

## BE IT RESOLVED BY THE EXECUTIVE COMMITTEE OF I MINA'BENTE NUEBI NA LIHESLATURAN GUÅHAN:

WHEREAS, the Guam Smokin' Wheels started its long time tradition in 1978 on the hills of Talofofo with two events: the off-road motorcycle and buggy & truck endurance competitions; and

WHEREAS, the participants of the first Smokin' Wheels Race included local enthusiasts and racing legends Mr. Henry Simpson, Mr. George Flores, Mr. Bill Flores, Mr. John Camacho, Mr. Joey Crisostomo, Mr. Luis Baza, Mr. Tom Tanarte, and Mr. Dennis Quinones; and

WHEREAS, this inaugural race was organized and coordinated by Mr. Dave Eckert who later formed the Guam Racing Association and with

the help of Mr. Henry Simpson, Mr. John Camacho, and other racing enthusiasts pioneered the Guam Smokin' Wheels Race; and

WHEREAS, in 1979, a gentleman named Mr. Etsuo Watabiki saw the potential for this race to become an international event and contacted his friends Mr. Tetsuji Yuasa and Mr. Nobu Hachiki from the Japan ATV Association to solicit interest in coming to Guam to compete in the Smokin' Wheels Race; and

WHEREAS, Mr. Yuasa accepted the invitation and since then members from the Japan ATV Association have come to Guam to compete in every Smokin' Wheels Race; and

WHEREAS, United States off-road racing legend Mr. Malcolm Smith also made his way to Guam to compete in the 1979 Smokin' Wheels Race; and

WHEREAS, the original Guam Raceway Park, located in Talisay, Santa Rita was made possible through the generous contribution of Jose and Herminia Calvo, who offered the use of their private property free of charge so that off road enthusiasts may have a safe place to practice and compete; and

WHEREAS, in 1997, Public Law 24-141, authored by then Senator Larry Kasperbauer, paved the way for the construction of the Guam International Raceway in 2000. The Guam Racing Federation dedicated the off road track in honor of Jose and Herminia Calvo and appropriately named it the "Jose and Herminia Calvo Memorial Off Road Park"; and

WHEREAS, through the efforts of Mr. Henry Simpson and other racing devotees, the Guam Racing Federation was formed and had oversight of Guam's largest off road racing event; and

WHEREAS, in 2001, after a four-year hiatus, the Guam Smokin' Wheels held its first race at the newly-built Jose and Herminia Calvo Memorial Off Road Park; and

WHEREAS, this marked a new era for the Guam Smokin' Wheels as many professional off-road competitors who have raced the Baja 500 and Baja 1000 and other notable events became interested in participating in the annual Smokin' Wheels event; and

WHEREAS, since the arrival of Mr. Malcolm Smith in 1979, Guam has played host to other off-road racing legends such as Ivan 'Iron Man' Stewart, Roger Mears, Walker Evens, Rory Chenowth, and Rick Johnson and for five consecutive years, these Pro-Truck and buggy racers had made the Guam Smokin' Wheels part of their annual race schedule; and

WHEREAS, the recent inclusion of other motor-sport activities as part of the Smokin' Wheels event by the current Chairman and Vice Chairman of the Guam Racing Federation, James Martinez and Eddie Cruz Jr., has given spectators a variety of racing action that includes motorcycle, ATV, buggy & truck endurance races, drag racing, drifting, autocross, 4x4 rock crawling, 4x4 mud bog and new this year, radio control off road racing; and

WHEREAS, over the last twenty-five years, the Guam Smokin' Wheels has had its share of trials and tribulations and with the support of our island community, has survived and continues to be the premier offroad and motor - sport event in the Western Pacific; now therefore be it resolved

**RESOLVED**, that the Executive Committee of *I Mina' Bente Nuebi Na Liheslaturan Guåhan* does hereby, on behalf of *I Liheslaturan Guåhan* and the people of Guam commend and congratulate Guam Smokin' Wheels on its Twenty-fifth (25th) Anniversary Celebration; and be it further

RESOLVED, that the Speaker and the Chairman of the Executive Committee certify, and the Secretary of the Legislature attest to, the adoption hereof, and that copies of the same be thereafter transmitted to Henry Simpson, Etsuo Watabiki, Tetsuji Yuasa, John Camacho, Joey Crisostomo, Dennis Quinones, Tom Tanarte, Luis Baza, George Flores, Bill Flores, Eddie Cruz Jr., James Martinez and Ricardo Calvo, representing the family of the late Jose & Herminia Calvo; and to the Honorable Felix P. Camacho, *I Maga'lahen Guåhan*.

DULY AND REGULARLY ADOPTED BY THE EXECUTIVE COMMITTEE OF *I MINA'BENTE NUEBI NA LIHESLATURAN GUÅHAN* ON THE 28<sup>TH</sup> DAY OF APRIL 2007.

MARK FORBES
Speaker and
Chairman, Executive Committee

RAY TENORIO
Senator and
Secretary of the Legislature